College, Hopes, and Dreams

Please, allow me to introduce myself, I am Kasaundra. Let me start off by saying I am a lot of things, I am an executive assistant (Jack of ALL Trades), an Aunt to two of the greatest kids in the world, I am a Weight Watcher (a work on progress), I am a Daughter, Sister, Granddaughter, I am a wanna be runner; just to name a few. But I am also a College Student.

I made the decision to return to school after being slapped (almost literally) several years ago. I had left college while preparing to study Nursing after a year, to gain work experience in the business world, after all that’s where the money was. Approximately 4 years ago, after working my way up into management as an IT Project Manager working enterprise and infrastructure projects, I found myself in-between contracts, no degree, and in a bottomed out economy with a struggling workforce. I took a step back, dusted myself off, swallowed my pride (after being out of work for a time), packed up and moved and took much lower paying career. These steps afforded me the soul searching that I needed to do. Yes, I was good at what I did, I made good money doing it, but is it where my heart was? The answer the last question was a resounding NO.

So, I find myself working full time, carrying as large of a class load as possible (9-10 hours a semester) and diligently striving to finish what I started oh so many years ago; My Nursing degree. The path I am on will graduate me in December with and AS, completing all requirements for a Bachelor’s Degree in Nursing. I will be applying for acceptance into the Nursing program at LoneStar to obtain my ADN and testing for my RN license. From there I will join the workforce as an RN, working towards my dream of one day working in Trauma and Emergency Care atBenTaubHospitaland of course completing my bachelor’s degree.

From there, The Sky’s The LIMIT!!!

Leave a Reply

